Czeslaw Milosz

“The decision to refuse all complicity with the [Communist] East – is this enough to satisfy one’s conscience? I do not think so. I have won my freedom; but let me not forget that I stand in daily risk of losing it once more. For in the West also one experiences the pressure to conform – to conform, that is, with a system which is the opposite of the one I have escaped from. The difference is that in the West one may resist such pressure without being held guilty of a mortal sin.”

– Excerpt from The Captive Mind by Czeslaw Milosz

You can read more about Milosz here. I’m doing some catchup on his prose, having only skimmed his poetry in the past.

Leave a Reply

