Top Ten Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is “Ten Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book.” You can view more responses over at The Broke and the Bookish.

C.S. Lewis: Most readers know Lewis from his Chronicles of Narnia series, but he wrote dozens of books. He created an excellent science fiction series, retold a classic myth in ‘Til We Have Faces, published poetry and penned numerous theological/philosophical texts including The Abolition of Man, Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, and The Great Divorce. Every time I read a Lewis book it feels like my crumpled mind has been scrubbed, rinsed clean, shaken out, pressed, and sent back into the world refreshed and awake. Unfortunately (fortunately?) I’ve read all his books at least once and have no new ones left to discover.

Harper Lee: My mother read To Kill a Mockingbird to us as kids. I’ve said “Hey” instead of “Hello” ever since. Ms. Lee is still alive, but Mockingbird is her only book. When she picked just one thing to write, I’m glad she chose this story.

Charlotte Bronte: Jane Eyre is so tense and vivid – my favorite of Charlotte Bronte’s books. At least she had sisters who wrote great novels as well.

Tom Clancy: His thrillers are a step above their counterparts in quality and creativity. These days Mr. Clancy primarily produces non-fiction or “Tom Clancy with ______” books containing abysmal writing by his companion authors. I miss the old Jack Ryan days.  Mr. Clancy is only in his sixties, so there’s still a chance for more good stories from him.

Homer: Future output by this gentleman seems unlikely, which is too bad; re-reading and debating the Illiad during my first quarter at the U of C was a cherished experience.

Paul Johnson: I love this Englishman’s books, especially his A History of the American People. He’s one of those rare beings: a historian who can actually write. He’s also a nice counter-perspective to the Howard Zinns of the historical world.

Dorothy Sayers: After finishing the last Lord Peter Wimsey mystery I felt downright depressed. No more? Ever? These are it? Sayers mysteries are the standard by which I judge all other detective stories. Few match up.

Alan Paton: Paton’s novels focused on South African apartheid era interactions. He wrote with clarity and compassion. While looking up details for this post, I discovered a list of books by him that I’ve never read – it promises to be a good year!

Anthony Trollope: Good books, bad hair. Mr. Trollope wrote a lot of novels, and there’s no chance I’ll finish them all. What I really wish, though, was that he’d written more books in his Chronicles of Barsetshire series. So many of his later books are awash in bitterness and sarcasm, but Barchester Towers and it’s companions are full-to-bursting with warmth and humor.

Trenton Lee Stewart: Carl and I loved his youth novel The Mysterious Benedict Society. The sequels were good, but not as good as the first book. Mr. Stewart is a comparatively young author yet. I hope he continues to produce great clever fiction like this that’s rip-roaring fun from start to finish.

Image sources here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book

    • Oh, read them! The nice thing is, individually they’re very short and can be gotten through in a lazy evening. Finding time for a lazy evening is always the hard part though 🙂

  1. I love C.S. Lewis! He wrote on a nice variety of subjects, as well!

    Harper Lee and Charlotte Bronte are on my list, too, and I definitely agree with Trenton Lee Stewart. Great list!

  2. What an interesting post! I’ve not read any Trollope yet, but hope to. And you’re right – if Harper Lee had only one story to tell, she picked a great one. One person I would have on my list is Elizabeth Gaskill. I’ve not read all of her books yet, but each one that I have read has been a true pleasure.

    • Ooh, Gaskill is a good choice. I’ve only read North & South so far, but loved the BBC versions of both that and Wives & Daughters. Any favorite books by her that you would recommend?

Leave a Reply

