On the 10th Day of Christmas

Two weeks before Christmas a truck pulled up to our door and delivered the (quite literally) biggest Christmas surprise ever. I took piano lessons for 12 years, but haven’t had easy access to an instrument since starting college. Carl plotted and researched for months before picking this beautiful thirty-year old Baldwin. He can’t play but found help everywhere from our church pianist to my mother to my old piano teacher to a local friend who visited the dealer and tested the keyboard. I have an amazing husband.

Thrift store rocker plus a pillow from my childhood bedroom.

The German terra cotta nativity my parents gave me as a teen. It came from the annual Christkindl Market in Chicago.

 My parents sent Carl a collapsible wooden tree for last year’s deployment so he could have a Christmas tree in Afghanistan. It’s much nicer to have him and the tree here this year. The wooden candle holder came from grandparents, though I forgot to buy the right sized candles before Christmas. Next time!

Poinsettias from relatives, and a sneak peek at the fireplace I painted this fall. Before shots to come, but I didn’t want to mar a nice Christmas montage with the ugliness.

8 thoughts on “On the 10th Day of Christmas

  1. What a wonderful gifts! I took lessons for 10 years myself. I don’t play as much as I should, but I do enjoy a good go with the carols every year at Christmas time. If you have someone to play along with you, I highly recommend the wonderful and somewhat famous Sleigh Ride duet!

    By the way, thanks for entering the giveaway on my blog! You won the little crocheted snowflakes! Please send me an e-mail with your address, and I’ll post them to you this week! Thanks so much for reading!

    • Oh, thanks for the Sleigh Ride suggestion. Maybe I can coerce a local friend into learning it.

      Also, thanks so much for hosting such a generous giveaway of handcrafts!

  2. Back from our holiday now and I just popped in to see what you have been up to. What a beautiful gift from your husband. I hope you have many hours of happiness playing it. This move we have put my piano in the main living area in the hope that I will be able to play it a lot more. Ginger is very interested in it and spends about 15 minutes a day sitting on the stool and hitting keys! I recommend you get all the playing in you can before you have littlies underfoot that want to do whatever you do – and helpfully sit beside you and turn the pages before you can finish playing the current page:)

    Interested too to read your comments on Josephine Tey’s Daughter of Time. I read it as a teenager as it is my Nanna’s (91 this year and now she is older and has time for such things a book a day speed reader) all time favourite novel.

    • Wonderful to see you back. I hope you had a good holiday and a smooth move. And yes, I can definitely see piano practice getting much more difficult with small kids around – all those shiny keys are just so tempting and satisfyingly noisy!

      I’m curious to try some of Tey’s other books now. My mother-in-law gave me another one called “Brat Farrar” that I plan to start soon.

Leave a Reply

