Burning the candle at both ends

The second alarm rings at 5:15 each morning. Last night the Man returned from the hospital at 10:00. The night before he got home at 10:30, and then the ICU paged him all. night. long. His pager, by the way, has the most blood-curdling ear-splitting BEEEEP BEEEEP BEEEEP BEEEEP BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP! known to man. Interrogators should pipe it into uncooperative prisoners’ cells; they’d crack within minutes.

Today during a work break I swung by the grocery store, quickly collected my list, paid, and pushed the cart toward the parking lot.

“Ma’am! Ma’am!”

I turned around. An employee jogged up, waving his arms.

The other clerks were all staring at me and smiling.

So were the customers.

“You left all your groceries.”

My cart? Empty. My groceries? Still sitting neatly bagged at the checkout counter.

Hello, weekend. You’ve a welcome sight.

 

5 thoughts on “Burning the candle at both ends

  1. My goodness those are horrid hours to be keeping. I have only ever left one shopping bag behind not the whole lot – you must have been really tired:)

    I can’t imagine that pager going off all night. How horrendous for both of you. The closest we have ever got is when DH is duty officer and has to bring the work mobile home – then you get middle of the night phonecalls to say so-and-so has been in an accident or, once, arrested!

    Hope you have had a restful weekend.

    • Ah! I never thought about the issues the duty officer has to deal with overnight. A middle of the night arrest call is a little too much excitement!

  2. i used to hate these comments but, sadly, they are true – oh the practice for having a newborn :-p

    although i’ve never left my groceries, i have forgotten, um, my kid. but, it was in the house and i didn’t even leave the garage.

    but still.

    sigh lol

    • Haa. I do feel better then. My mother once dropped me on the floor when she needed both hands to reach for a plate of cookies. Maternal sleep deprivation has fascinating effects :-).

Leave a Reply

