Yarn Along

Forgetting how to knit is my special talent. I’ve learned how to knit and then forgotten how to knit at least four times in my life. Last month, experienced local knitters hosted a knitting-for-beginners night at our library and I went on the spur of the moment. Once again the familiar motions slowly reemerged from muscle memory: knit, purl, yarn over, reduce, bind off. Afterwards I  scavenged online for a pattern more challenging than a dishcloth but appropriate for my one slender skein of yarn (leftover color inspiration from our wedding) and even more slender store of knowledge. I settled on this pattern for a lacy scarf – not so much because its something I’d wear but because it’s slightly more difficult than straight knitting or ribbing and a good starter project. In honor of  the first wobbly foot and a half hanging from the needles, I’m joining the Yarn Along over at Small Things for the first time. It’s a weekly online gathering where people share a photograph of their current knitting project and reading with others. It’s a pleasure to browse through the linked projects, both for visual inspiration and reading ideas.

The book, John Buchan’s Sick Heart River, was a Christmas gift from my mother-in-law. I grew up on Buchan and introduced my husband to his works last year. Buchan’s best known works are spy stories written in the early 1900s like The Thirty-Nine Steps and Greenmantle. They’re rip-roaring reads – adventurous, funny, and clever, with beautiful descriptions of scenery and enjoyable characters. They’re pure pleasure for adults, but clean enough for kids (no Bond girls here). While not the finest literature available, they’re a far sight better than the thriller paperbacks in the bookstore. Scottish by birth, Buchan ended his life as Governor General of Canada. This book departs from his standard spy and historical novels to follow a dying man determined to end his life in action as he tracks down two men in far northern Canada.

5 thoughts on “Yarn Along

    • Funny you should mention that movie – I just re-watched it this past weekend! Quite fun. I also really enjoyed Rupert Penry-Jones part as Captain Wentworth in the 2007 BBC film version of Jane Austen’s “Persuasion” – he did a great job.

Leave a Reply

