A New Low

Last week I traveled to New York for a few meetings, then stopped over in Illinois for a quick Easter visit before flying home. In the first airport a shoe shine man lounging by his stand called as I passed:

“Shoe shine, lady?”

“No thanks.”

He stared down at my battered brown lace-ups, then looked up accusingly:

“They need one.”

Shoe shine guy: 1, My pride: 0, My poor abused footwear: Beyond hope.

 *******

I can’t walk past a shoe-shine stand without hearing Johnny Cash’s rockabilly Get Rhythm in my head. This is an old recording, but you get the idea: 

2 thoughts on “A New Low

Leave a Reply

